Healthy Crown Journey (done)

blue trim

 

My crown has suffered. From my own ignorance and neglect, it has lost its sheen and volume trying to combat split ends and fairy knots in my quest for length. I could use the excuse that I didn’t have the right products or I didn’t have time, but we all know that’s bogus. In truth, though I loved my curls and kinks, I never took the time to learn what my hair really wanted and needed. So, my crown has suffered.

Well, that is OVER!!

I WILL polish this crown of mines. I WILL grow it with health as the goal. I WILL NOT care about the length checks or doing cute,yet complex styles. When I was relaxed, I cared more for my hair and I hated the person I became. These coils and kinks are my loves and they will outshine my relaxed days.

 

K.I.S.S. HAIR CARE

Because I am a certified lazy naturalista, I have simplified my hair care regime to the bare minimal. My products are basic as well. Finger detangling with conditioner works best for my fine strands as combs tends to rip out my hair no matter how wide the teeth are.  Yes, I will switch up a few products for the colder months, but its the same Keep It Simple Stupid routine. Its also cheaper regime than my relaxed days.

I shampoo at least two a month with Creme of Nature Sulfate-Free Moisture & Shine Shampoo followed by TRESemmé Botanique Curl Hydration Conditioner or Aussie 3 Minute Miracle. I do protein treatments when needed. I will use Palmer’s Coconut Oil Formula Deep Conditioning Protein Pack or ORS Olive Oil Replenishing Pak. You remember that activator for the Jheri Curl? Well, meet my moisturizer, S curls No Drip. Extra Virgin Olive Oil is my sealant.

For the colder months, I will do a little bit of experimentation.  The moisturizer I am currently using has glycerin in it. Glycerin is a humectant, meaning it attracts moisture. Whether its from the air in the summertime or your hair in the winter, glycerin will have its thirst quenched. Sorry, but I ain’t trying to have dry brittle hair in the cold. Talk about breakage!

Extra virgin olive oil is too thin for me in the colder months as well. It wont seal as it gets absorbed into my headcovering. So to combat this problem, Jamaican black castor oil will be added to my olive oil. Also, I want to make an oil mixture that can be used for both, my hair and skin.

Protective Styling

Protective styling?! Who me?? LMBO!!!!!!!!

Okay, I HATE IT! The time and effort going into it is too consuming and my arms be sore. In this heat, I saturate my hair in the shower and moisturize and seal to rock my Afro or puff every two to three days. If I feel my hair is  will put a flat twist on the front if I am wearing a low puff.

 343

It has to be a cold day in… you know where, for me to do the only two protective styles I will wear. Small twists and box braids are done by me without extensions. TWO DAYS TO INSTALL!! The only thing I like about doing these styles is my bomb slay twist and braid outs.

20170604_171031

Heat and my hair meet once a year. My family likes the straight look, but Bopi likes my kinks and coils.

346
His finger got stuck lol

I do plan to make a video to show my lazy naturalista routine to showcase all my products and styling. Stay tuned for this short video!

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

